• ARCC Seeking Nominations for 33rd Annual J. Walter Juckett Community Service Award

    The Adirondack Regional Chamber of Commerce (ARCC) is currently seeking nominations for our annual J. Walter Juckett Community Service Award.

    The chosen recipient will be honored at our Annual Dinner event, on the evening of April 1, 2022, at The Sagamore Resort.


    The J. Walter Juckett Community Service Award is the 4-county region’s prestigious community service award, given to recognize and honor an extraordinary individual who has selflessly gone above and beyond by contributing time and energy to help others.


    Nominations must be received by December 10, 2021.




    1. The nominee’s profile should demonstrate significant contributions to the community in the field of human services, education, business, or industry.
    2. The nominee’s contributions should be substantial and enduring.
    3. The nominee should reflect the admiration of his or her peers.
    4. Neither the nominee nor nominator are required to be a member of the Adirondack Regional Chamber of Commerce (ARCC) to be considered or receive this honor.


    Click here to fill out the online nomination form.

    You may also download a PDF version of the nomination form by clicking here. Paper forms may be returned to the ARCC by:

    • Mail - 68 Warren Street, Suite 200, Glens Falls, NY 12801
    • Fax - 518.792.4147


  • J. Walter Juckett Community Service Award

  • Previous J. Walter Juckett Award Recipients Previous J. Walter Juckett Award Recipients

  • 1990 John A. Matochik, Jr. DVM
    1991 George C. Frost
    1992 Frank Munoff
    1993 Merritt E. Scoville*
    1994 John P. Cushing*
    1995 Floyd H. Rourke*
    1996 Ann Butler
    1997 Thomas E. Haley
    1998 Frank Leonbruno*
    1999 Charles R. Wood*
    2000 Michael F. Massiano
    2001 Thomas Ross, CPA
    2002 Sen. Ronald B. Stafford*
    2003 Joan Kubricky
    2004 Paul E. Pontiff, Esq.*
    2005 Thomas L. Hoy
  • J-Walter-Juckett-Award.jpg
  • 2006 Richard Trowbridge
    2007 David Kruzlnicki
    2008 Jim and Tina Marshall
    2009 David Capron
    2010 Carmen Della Bella
    2011 Harold G. "Bud" Taylor
    2012 Dan Burke
    2013 John and Kevin O'Brien
    2014 Kathy Duncan
    2015 Bob Joy
    2016 Senator Betty Little
    2017 Ed Moore
    2018 Dr. Jim Morrissey and Mrs. Kay Morrissey
    2019 Elizabeth Miller
    2020 Paul Dowen
    2021 Mark Behan


  • Who was J. Walter Juckett? Who was J. Walter Juckett?

  • J. Walter Juckett was born in 1908 in Mittineague, Massachusetts. With engineering degree in-hand from the military college of Norwich University, he began his career at the Hurlbut Paper Company, where his father, Frank Juckett, served as President.

    During the depths of the Great Depression in the 1930s, the Juckett father-and-son team took over active management of Sandy Hill Iron and Brass Works in Hudson Falls, New York, where J. Walter would succeed his father as president through the 1980s.

    A pillar of the community, J. Walter was an active participant in many community organizations, including the Mohican Council of the Boy Scouts, The Lake Champlain Cancer Research Organization, The Adirondack Samaritan Counseling Center, First Presbyterian Church of Glens Falls, the Salvation Army, and the Adirondack Regional Chamber of Commerce.

    After his passing in 1988, the Chamber’s board of directors created the prestigious J. Walter Juckett Community Service Award. Each year, the award is bestowed upon a deserving honoree, who demonstrates a fierce commitment and hands-on dedication to the betterment of our local community.